Friday, 7 February 2014

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road Tribute Album Announced

Emeli Sandé, Ed Sheeran and Miguel will contribute to a tribute album for Elton John's Goodbye Yellow Brick Road. The singer's 1973 double-album will be reissued in March with a new book, bonus DVD, and a live recording of his December 1973 gig at the Hammersmith Odeon in London. 

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road will be available in five different physical editions, from vinyl to CD to Blu-Ray, as well as digital equivalents. On the accompanying nine-track covers CD, a wide array of acts have taken on Sir Elton's classics, ranging from UK stars like Sandé and Imelda May to American artists like the Band Perry and the Zac Brown Band.

In addition to the re-mastered musical set, this release marks the reissue of Bryan Forbes' long out of print documentary, Elton John And Bernie Taupin Say Goodbye To Norma Jean And Other Things. Shot over the course of a year, this movie traced the making of what became one of Sir Elton's most successful records. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road spent two weeks at No 1 and has sold more than 31 million copies worldwide. 

Around the same time that Goodbye Yellow Brick Road is reissued, on 24 March, cinemas across the globe will begin showing The Million Dollar Piano, a concert film based on Sir Elton's ongoing Las Vegas residency. Screening times and dates are listed here. "I am so very proud of the show," the Candle In The Wind star told Rolling Stone. "It has something for everyone." 

The albums tracklist is as follows:
  1. Candle In The Wind (Ed Sheeran)
  2. Bennie And The Jets (Miguel feat. Wale)
  3. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Hunter Hayes)
  4. Grey Seal (The Band Perry)
  5. Sweet Painted Lady (John Grant)
  6. All The Girls Love Alice (Emeli Sande)
  7. Your Sister Can't Twist (But She Can Sure Rock N' Roll) (Imelda May)
  8. Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting) (Fall Out Boy)
  9. Harmony (Zac Brown Band)

No comments:

Post a Comment